1 2 > 
1 of 2
More Newcomer questions.  Specifically in regards to waxing and Hermans baby Gouda
Posted: 03 July 2012 02:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Contributor
RankRank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2012-07-03

Hello,  I’m new to cheesemaking,  but have been reading this site for the past few months , trying to learn as much as I can.  I have tried cheesemaking 5 times to date,  3 mozza with store milk that did not say ultrapasteurized, ( but must have been heated too high.)  All flops.  Tasted good in lasagna though.  Last week I was able to do a 1 time thing in getting some raw milk ( Canada) and so I made a Leyden that is looking and smelling right, and a Gouda which is not looking right ( wouldn’t knit together,  so in a moment of desperation I took a bowlful of whey which I was gonna make Ricotta out of and chucked it over my falling apart cheese,  and lo and behold,  it kinda melted together, so I pressed it).  We’ll see what happens there, it’s drying on my counter at the moment.

My questions are…. I mistakenly ordered cream wax from Glengarry Cheesemaking instead of regular wax.  I’m doing two coats on my Leyden cheese today with it.  Do any of you use this product, and if you do , do you wax with regular cheesewax afterwards,  say in a week or two?