Whats wrong with cheese from powdered milk
Posted: 19 May 2015 06:47 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Visitor
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2015-05-19

Hi, I am pretty new to cheesemaking. I’ve been practising with powdered milk because I will be in remote locations on a sailing boat.
I made up a batch of full fat milk from powder with 1.5 times the normal mix of solids. I added calcium chloride to perk it up.
I added rennet at the normal strength for the recipe, and hey presto, the curd set beautifully in 30 minutes. I was so excited!
Then heated it to 43 degrees C, and it completely disintegrated. Can anyone tell me why did this happen? Any suggestions to stop it happening.
What cheese if any, could I make that don’t involve heating the curd?
Many thanks

Posted: 20 May 2015 05:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Indispensable
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1450
Joined  2008-05-14

Welcome Seamonster!  You brought back some memories.  I used to live in Micronesia, and would run into yachties all the time.  They were all great people, from all over the world.

I’ve never made cheese from powdered milk, so I’m just spitballing here.  First, the fact that you got curd would indicate you did something right.  I’m impressed that you found full fat powdered milk.  You might try adding a bit of extra cream, although that will likely not be available in remote locations.  I don’t know of any cheese that can be made without heating (cooking) the curd.  My first thought would be to go for soft cheese.

How quickly did you heat the curd?  It may be that heating too fast would ruin your curd.  Recipes are always careful to mention a slow heating process. 

What kind of water did you use?  Hopefully not chlorinated?

What was your process from curd set, through cut and on to cooking?  What did you stir with?  Spoon, ladle, hands?  And how gentle were you with the curd?