Help, When to use Calcium Chloride and Raw Milk?
Posted: 01 January 2015 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Visitor
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2015-01-01

Hello all,

I’m very happy to join a forum that I’ve already found to be most useful. I come from a long line of cheeseaholics but I’m an absolute beginner in the world of cheese making…although I’ve been longing to get into the craft for a few years. After 2 Father’s Days, 2 Birthdays and a Christmas of putting a cheese making kit on my wish list (to no avail), I finally bought my own Christmas present this year. Can you guess what it was?

I’ve read many of the threads here looking for answers to my questions, which I have yet to find, so since I’m anxious to make my first cheese I will pose my questions while I continue to read through the forum. For the last year (between gifting events) I’ve been reading up and watching videos on how to make different cheeses. In the book “Home Cheese Making” it says that when you use pasteurized milk you should add calcium chloride (not included in Xmas bundle) to produce a firmer curd. My first question is: Do I need to add calcium chloride to make Whole Milk Ricotta, my first cheese? When do I need or not need to use calcium chloride?

I’ve also been reading about different types of milk and learned that Raw Milk produces some of the best tasting cheeses but can present harmful bacteria such as Salmonella or Mycrobacterium which can be destroyed through pasturization. Does that danger apply to store bought raw milk? Why wouldn’t I buy pasturized milk to start with? I did however, read that the US gov’t requires raw milk cheeses to be aged at least 60 days to prevent pathenogenic bacteria. In my mind I’m thinking that I will reserve using raw milk (which runs $15 per gallon) for when I get to the stage of making long aged cheeses, my ultimate goal of which is making real aged cheddars.