Cheese press photo and questions about heating a cheese cave
Posted: 04 January 2015 11:18 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Visitor
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2015-01-04

Hi, new member here. I’m very new to cheese making and still in the process of setting up equipment. Just finished the cheese press (photos attached).  I’m happy to share dimensions if anyone is interested. I made the press for around $50.00 The black bars are from a weight lifting bar which comes in three perfectly sized pieces ($29 new at Walmart). Wood is from a single 8ft x 5.5inch x1inch piece of cedar ($9). Black rings are just large washers which were primed and painted black ($10). Weights from Craigslist for $5 (1.25lb and 2.5lb plates).

Does anyone have experience with heating a cheese-cave-fridge in a cold garage?  There is just no room in my home. I have all the modification equipment for cooling and humidifying my 3.2 cf fridge, but warming the fridge is another dimension entirely. I’m testing out a terrarium brick heater inside the fridge which is set on a separate thermostat. Seems to work well with the garage at 29 degrees F (max achievable temp inside fridge was 61 degrees). These types of heaters are well suited to high humidity conditions. Any pitfalls for using this approach? Are there better options for heating? Any pitfalls for a garage in general? Thanks!
Jaymes

Image Attachments
image.jpgimage.jpg

Posted: 04 January 2015 02:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Indispensable
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1450
Joined  2008-05-14

Nice looking press; I love your creativity.  Also, a pleasing design as well.