1 of 2
Something is wrong with my new raw milk source
Posted: 05 May 2015 05:23 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Visitor
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2015-05-04

Hey all,

I’ve been a lurker on this site for years, and find it incredibly helpful and fun.  Now I need your help.  I have a mystery to solve with my raw milk that is failing to make cheese in a way I’ve never seen before!

I’ve been making cheese on and off for the last 7 or 8 years, depending on my milk availability.  I had a great raw milk source a year ago, and enjoyed success with fresh mozzarella and a few hard cheeses.  That milk source dried up, though, so I’ve been without fresh cheese for what seems like an eternity!  However, I finally found a new source last month, and have jumped right in to making fresh mozzarella once again.

The problem is that my 30-minute mozzarella is failing EVERY time with this new milk!  I’ve made it dozens of times before, using the same technique and different raw milk, and never had a failure before.  I know it’s not my technique or recipe… it’s got to be the milk.  I’m completely stumped as to why it’s failing.

Here is what is happening:  I add the citric acid, bring it up to temp at 88-90F, and add the rennet.  I let it sit until set, slowly rising to 100F, and that’s when it goes wrong.  I get a huge, globby mess like you see in the attached photo “curd_glob.jpg”.  When I try to cut the curds, I end up getting a super stringy and limp cheesy, cobwebby, mess, like you see in the attached photo “stringy_curds.jpg”.  Sometimes I’m able to get the curds strained enough to form a ball in the bowl, but it’s still limp, as if the cheese is melted.  This is before I ever heat it in the microwave, and when my whey is only in the 100-105 range.  I’ve never seen anything like it.  On the few times I’ve been able to get something resembling cheese out of it, it tastes bland but passable that day, and sour and waxy the next.  Sometimes it’s totally rubbery and plastic-y.