1 2 > 
1 of 2
Mozzarella… not so easy…
Posted: 05 March 2017 07:39 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Visitor
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2017-03-05

Have been making hard cheeses (cheddar, Caerphilly and the like), feta cheeses, chevre for almost a year and not had any problems but mozzarella is a real challenge. I use home made kefir from grains to inoculate the milk and the curds can become very acidic (close to 4.0) is there a lower limit to the pH at which the curds will stretch? Thanks

Posted: 07 March 2017 05:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Indispensable
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1450
Joined  2008-05-14

Hey Bernard, good to hear from another cheese maker.  I’ve been making hard cheese for 9 years, but Mozzarella has always been a problem for me.  So, while I can’t offer any helpful advice here, I can at least commiserate.  I also have a problem with cheddar, that you might be able to shed some light on.  I do Colby, Monterey and Pepper Jack, Gouda, Havarti with great results every time.  But my cheddar, while it tastes good, is always too dry.  I’ve adjusted ripening and cooking times, cook temps, and even increased the cream content - but it is always exceedingly dry and crumbly.  The standard answer is that it’s too acidic; but I’m at a loss as to how to lower the acidity.  Any tips?

Signature 

Rich

Posted: 07 March 2017 02:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Visitor
Rank
Joined  2017-03-05

HI Rich, Too dry and crumbly suggests to me a number of possible issues - in no particular order
1. You are stirring the curds too vigorously - gentle stirring - every few minutes is all that is required.
2. The aging room may be too dry (not humid enough).
3. If too acidic… can you check the pH? Cheddar should have a pH of about 5.0 What are you using to culture the cheese? For how long?

Posted: 07 March 2017 07:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Indispensable
RankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-05-14

Stirring isn’t the problem.