newbie intro!
Posted: 22 April 2013 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Visitor
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2013-04-22

I’m so happy I found this forum! I am very new at cheese making… so far having only made soft cheese - quark, several makes of chevre, yogurt, and now a cream cheese. I own a goat share and receive a gallon of raw milk every Friday, so I’m trying to make something new every weekend. Next weekend I’ll be attempting crottin - the first cheese that will require cutting the curds and using mold (the shaping kind). I’m very excited.

Thus far I’ve only made soft, unaged cheese, so I gently pasturize my milk before before starting the make. The book I’ve been working off of (along with online sources) has me heating the raw milk to 146F and holding it at that temperature for 30 minutes, then chilling the milk back to 40F in an ice bath, and refigerating until ready to use. I know this is a total newbie question, but I can’t seem to find the answer anywhere - can I just chill the pasturized milk to 86F and then add my culture, or is it imperative that it chills completely before heating it up again to the right temperature? To me, it makes no sense to chill it all the way down if I’m just going to heat it right up again, but since I’m still in the learning phase I want to cut back on possible mistakes as much as possible.

Reading all your posts about the harder, aged cheese has me so excited to advance to the next steps of cheese making. Thanks for your help in advance!

Anne Marie

Posted: 22 April 2013 05:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Indispensable
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1450
Joined  2008-05-14

No, it’s not necessary to cool it completely if you’re going to use it right away.  It is the heat that kills the bacteria, the cooling is for storage purposes.