New Cheesemaker
Posted: 17 February 2016 06:45 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Visitor
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2016-02-17

Hi all

Just wanted to drop in to say hello, as the title suggests i am new to cheese making.

I have always wanted to give it a go and finally my husband bought me my first kit for Valentines Day so this weekend i am going to give it a go!

Its good to know that i have a place to turn for advice, i am based in the UK but gathers that theres members from all over on this forum?

Looking forward to getting to know you all!

Carly grin

Posted: 17 February 2016 07:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Contributor
RankRank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2015-12-12

Welcome, please ask any questions you have. Making cheese in Kansas here.

Posted: 17 February 2016 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Indispensable
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1450
Joined  2008-05-14

Hey Ginger,

It’s good to welcome another new cheese maker.  I remember starting out myself - about 8 years ago.  I was uncertain about everything, so I was quite meticulous about following recipes.

A couple or three pointers here.  First, keep a journal and make notes on every batch you make.  That way, if there is an especially good (or bad) batch, you’ll be able to go back and see what you did with that one.  Second, keep it clean!  Sanitation is critically important.  And third, use the very best quality milk you can get your hands on.  If you are fortunate enough to have access to raw milk, you’ll be richly rewarded.  Fresh, whole cream milk makes fantastic cheese.

So, what kind of cheese are you starting with?  And remember, we love pictures!

Signature 

Rich

Posted: 17 February 2016 09:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Visitor
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2016-02-17

Thanks for the welcome guys!