Camembert: Ingredient effects?
Posted: 04 March 2008 05:41 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Contributor
RankRank
Total Posts:  47
Joined  2008-03-01

I am an admitted noob at making mold ripened cheeses but I think my first camembert is looking very good. It’s been in the fridge for 10 days and has a very nice pure white mold cover both disks and I plan to wrap them in paper tonight for 4-6 weeks of aging (eating one at 4 and one at 6 weeks, ha). As I look at different recipes for the same cheese I wonder what affect some of the ingredients have on the final cheese flavor. For example; Ricki’s book only calls for flora danica (FD) and PC while Tim Smith’s book uses mesophilic culture and PC but no FD and some I’ve seen use both. As to the molds all appear to use PC but some also use PG. What can one expect from the use or ommission of each of these ingredients?

I plan to start a journal for my attempts at these cheeses and keep notes on each variation as that’s just the chemist in me at work but it would be nice to know what to expect from the start. My first attempt used just the mesophilic culture and PC, I think the next time I’ll add some FD to to the mix to see what changes. This is a good cheese to experiment with since it can be eaten about 6 weeks after it’s made, I’ve made a few cheddars but I’ve only opened one and have two that are 3-6 months away from tasting.

Mark G

Posted: 04 March 2008 09:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Major Contributor
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2008-01-22

I made Camembert with the Flora Danica and the PC. So far the cheeses have had a distinct nutty mold taste. Then I made cheese with Flora Danica, PC plus Geo. Candidum. I’ll let you know how they turn out. I see B. Linens forming. Very exciting!

According to the New Englad Cheese making Supply website:

Flora Danica has s.lactis, s. cremoris, s.lactis biovar diacetylactis, m.s. cremoris.