Newbie in Japan
Posted: 18 April 2013 01:57 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Contributor
RankRank
Total Posts:  58
Joined  2013-04-12

Hi, I’m new to cheesemaking and thought I’d like to say Hello to everyone on the forum.

I live in Japan where cheesemaking supplies are very hard to come by, though I did manage to find vegetable rennet on Amazon Japan. For the other stuff, so far I’ve been improvising, using homemade plain yoghurt in place of culture, acidifying with citric acid, etc.

To date I’ve made generic soft/cream cheeses, ricotta and quick mozzarella, but what I really want is to make the lovely hard British cheeses of my childhood – Lancashire, Double Gloucester, Red Leicester, Wensleydale, Caerphilly, etc.

For my first hard cheese I used the recipe for basic cheese from one gallon which I found here - http://biology.clc.uc.edu/Fankhauser/Cheese/Cheese98.htm. I followed the instructions more or less exactly, up to wrapping the pressed cheese in a handkerchief and putting it in the fridge. After a couple of weeks the cheese had sort of a yellow rind around the edges, but the sides were still quite soft and had developed mouldy spots. I rubbed the spots with vinegar and salt, which removed them, but next day the cheese was wet. I wiped it off and took it out of the fridge to air-dry. In a couple of days it had developed the cracks you see in the photo, and I hastily returned it to its closed container in the fridge with a bowl of water to provide humidity.
Yesterday the cheese was one month old, so I cut it and tasted. It’s a bit rubbery (not pressed hard enough?) and a bit saltier than I would like, but it’s definitely cheese! Yay!