Got a cheese kit, can’t wait to start, but first a few questions
Posted: 02 February 2007 07:30 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Visitor
Rank
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2007-01-24

Hi Folks,

I am happy to find this message board. When I was a newbie making beer, the forum over at Northern Brewer was most helpful, and I’d be grateful and appreciative to anyone who might chime in here to help answer some of my newbie cheesemaking questions.

I got my kit for Christmas. It looks to be the exact kit made by Rikki Carrol, but distributed through Lehman’s, which is who my wife bought from. We left for a nine day trip out west the day after I got it, and I didn’t notice right away that the cultures should be put in the freezeer, so that didn’t happen until I got back. Will those be OK? And it wasn’t even until much later than that that I read that rennet should be put in the fridge. Will that be OK?

I requested the hard cheese kit, not knowing that it is harder to make hard cheese, and that it is best to have a cheese press. I can’t afford that right now, and while I gather there are ways to get around having one, I have yet to find anywhere where such a workaround is adequately explained. Any advice?

I’m concerned about maintaining proper temps during the process, too. I have read some on this, but the advice seems to be too general, and I was wondering here if anyone has any thoughts on this.

Also regarding temps, I have read, for example, that cheddar needs to age at 55 degrees F once it’s done. I am concerned about how I will maintain that temperature.

I am having similar pangs of anxiety over this like I did before I attempted my first batch of beer. I’ve done 25 now, and they’ve all been tasty, and in homebrewing, there is a saying coined by a homebrewing guru that says “Relax, don’t worry, have a homebrew”. I found that to be helpful, because in the end, brewing beer is a fairly forgiving process. Can the same be said about cheesemaking?

Thank you all for your consideration.